Explore My World

Through My Looking Glass

I have always loved the idea of Alice in Wonderland so it seemed a good place to start – everything from tiny bottles saying ‘drink me’, tea parties with mismatched décor, characters inspired by playing cards and chess pieces, Mary Janes, and the idea of a place that no one else knows about but you.

Mad Hatter's Tea Party original artwork

Ultimately, we all live in a world that only we know. Nobody is with us 24/7, seeing life as we see it, with our thoughts and feelings. Mine is a world that I can only reflect through a mash of words and my own looking glass – my camera – and maybe you will see what I see, or maybe you will see something I never did.

Me through the looking glass

My wonderland is full of inspiration, admiration, and incredulation for the people in my life, the kindness of strangers, and the capabilities of humans. I want to reflect that through sharing the things that inspire me, that I admire, and that leave me constantly incredulous at our own abilities – be that through movies, books, photographs, style and fashion, stories, or things I come across in my every day life. So down the rabbit hole I go…

P.S The film was disappointing, but the costumes and artwork (as seen below) were amazing, there’s no denying it. Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland – image from Beyond Hollywood

6 responses

  1. cassieathome

    You write so beautifully. :-)

    February 19, 2011 at 1:23 pm

  2. Leon

    Nice post Kat, I’m sure you know Alice is up for 3 Oscars this year, including the costumes and art direction you mentioned! How many do you think it could take home?

    February 19, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    • Hey, thanks. I think it will take costumes and makeup because it doesn’t really have much competition, but Inception will take out all the other visual awards…Have you put in your IMDB Oscars ballot yet? Important things, Leon.

      February 20, 2011 at 10:06 am

      • Leon

        It’s a-comin’! Don’t you worry about that. I like to feel the pulse of the ENTIRE voting period…. then predict at the dying stages. It helps sniff out those upsets. Re: Alice, it’s not up for makeup, but I do think it has a really strong shot at costumes… The other 2 it’s up for are Art Direction and Visual Effects. Arguably Inception is the leading contender in those categories, although I could see Alice winning for Art Dir. It’s a bit of a coin-toss year…..

        February 22, 2011 at 12:14 pm

  3. Sue

    I love the look and feel. Being new, not much content and left me wanting more….always a good sign. Keep it coming and I’ll keep reading. Well done!

    February 20, 2011 at 10:36 am

Leave a Reply

